Tasty Things on Thursday’s – Homemade Slow Cooker Chili!

Homemade Slow Cooker Chili

For any readers not coming from Canada or the United States…. we have snow. LOT’S OF IT. So in honor of that I decided to make my first ever chili. It’s the perfect comfort food on a cold day. The best part? It tastes even better the next day.

I have to say it turned out extremely well, and everyone went back for seconds. I didn’t measure anything, since it all went in the slow cooker! Everything here is adjustable to your own preferences. Many of the ingredients I used because they are what I had available in my fridge or cupboard at the time – my favorite way to cook!

Enjoy and please let me know what you think if you try it out! 🙂

Ingredients

Chili Ingredients

1 package ground venison

1 package ground beef (venison is lean so it’s nice to add in some fat)

1 package ground turkey

~2 cups of mixed beans. I used black, white, kidney and the spotted brown pinto kind. (Remember, the beans are going to double in size)

2 medium sized onions

5 cloves of garlic

1 can diced tomatoes (any kind of tomatoes, or tomato sauce will work)

1/2 can of tomato paste (leftover in my fridge)

Chili powder (lots)

Chili flakes

Cumin

Tumeric

Salt

Pepper

Water (enough to cover everything that you’ve loaded into your slow cooker!)

Directions

This is a nice and simple recipe!

Toss all of your ground meat, beans, tomatoes, tomato paste, salt, pepper and other spices right into the bottom of the slow cooker.

Next, chop up your onions and garlic into small, even sized pieces and add to the slow cooker.

Give all of this concoction a big stir, mixing it well together and then add enough water to cover the contents. Make sure your beans are completely submerged!

Put the lid on the slow cooker, turn it to High and walk away! I cooked mine from about 11am-7pm. The longer the better as far as I am concerned, but as soon as your beans are cooked you are ready to rock!

Garnish with sour cream, green onions and grated cheddar cheese.

Leave a Reply

